Tilgængelighed  |  RSS | Print side |

Forside | Idrætter | Klubber | Aktiviteter | Børn & Unge | Kalender | Sponsor | Parasport Danmark | Kontakt


Photo: Brian Mouridsen
Photo: Brian Mouridsen

Day one preview: It's go time!

Opdateret d. 03-08-2014

Af Beau Greenway

The wait is finally over as the 2014 IWRF World Championship Begins today at Sparekassen Fyn Arena in Odense, Denmark.


After months of anticipation, Arena Fyn looks more than ready to host a world class event as the 12 best teams in wheelchair rugby fight for the ultimate success.


The event will officially start at 3pm local time with the Opening Ceremony at the arena.


The ceremony will include a parkour display, a stomp performance as well as a test game featuring some Danish celebrities and local wheelchair rugby players which is not to be missed.


The opening game of the tournament will then get underway as Denmark takes on Belgium at 4:30pm.


France and New Zealand also open their world championships campaigns later in the evening when they clash at 6:30pm.


The home side will start favourites against a Belgian outfit that has struggled for form in recent major tournaments.


Expectations will be high for the hosts who have been in very good form in lead up events including a strong 5th place performance at the Canada Cup in June.


Thor Johansson and the Danish team appeared calm at training yesterday but will carry the hopes of the home crowd this afternoon.


Here's a look at how they will lineup:

Denmark: Thor Johansson (Coach/Captain), Jesper Kruger, Jon Johanneson, Kristian Bak Eriksen, Kurt Busk, Leon Jorgensen, Mike Borgstrom, Thomas Pagh, Sebastian Frederiksen.


Belgium: Bruno Vroman, Frederik Windey, Ive Theuwissen, Ludwig Budeners, Pascal Cosyns, Raf Hendrix, Ronald Verhaegen, Bob Vanacker (Coach).


Following the tournament opener, France will play its first IWRF World Championship match. The debutants secured their place by performing well at the European Championships last year and will be eager to show that on the world stage.


New Zealand has also undergone a massive transformation to get themselves back amongst the world’s top ranked teams.


The 2004 Paralympic champions failed to qualify for the 2012 London Games but have worked incredibly hard over the last year to book their place at the event.


Here is the lineup for both teams:

New Zealand: Maia Amai, Dan Buckingham, Rob Hewitt, Tanafi Lefono, Cameron Leslie, Gavin Rolton, Steve Smith, Phil Spring, Sholto Taylor, Adam Wakeford, Barney Koneferenisi.


France: Pablo Neuman. Adrien Chalmin, Cyrille Chauvel, Christophe Corompt, Rodolphe Jarlan, Sebastian Lhuissier, Charles Martinez, Cedric Nankin, Nicolas Rioux, Ryadh Sallam, Jonathon Hivernat, Eric Meurisse.


Both matches will be live streamed on the 2014 IWRF World Championship website and broadcast on Danish television.

Seneste Nyheder

VM-guld til Lisa Kjær Gjessing i parataekwondo
Lisa Kjær Gjessing jagter fjerde VM-titel i parataekwondo
5.000 kr. til den bedste jubelscene i Special Olympics Danmark
Dansk afbud til VM i parasvømning i Mexico
20 danske atleter til europæisk ungdomsstævne i Italien





Udvikling Fyn - Logo

Sport Event Danmark


OK Plus
Opel logo

Wolturnus - Logo


VM Rugby ticket

Facebook - BW - Logo

IWRF - Logo



Parasport Danmark - Idrættens Hus - 2605 Brøndby  |  
Kontakt Parasport Danmark
  |  Kontakt Webmaster